Rachel

My cousin Rachel is my best friend. Even though she is a year younger than me, we always have a lot of fun when we are together. She did move away for a while with her family, at the same time my dad left, but she came back. That is the number one reason that she is my best friend. I guess a lot of people think Rachel is stuck up because she can be shy sometimes. But I know first hand that shy girls care a lot about what other people think. I know that even playing double-dutch that I usually have to get her to play with us. But that is yet another reason that she is my best friend- I enjoy taking care of other people and watching out for her. The last reason that she is my best friend is because she knows and understands my true ambition: that I want to be a writer. Recently we were looking in a crystal ball and “seeing into our futures” like fortune tellers and I told her that I saw that I was going to be a writer. fortune-tellerAt first she didn’t believe me. She wasn’t sure if I could be like a real author who writes books. I told her my dreams of writing about interesting things, everyday things. Anything just so that I can express my ideas, my visions, my dreams. I love writing so much and I just want to have the courage to share my dreams with other people. I am going to be the youngest writer to ever have a book in the library! I think she began to believe me cause I probably rambled about it for a good twenty minutes. She then had the nerve to tell me that I better get a good teacher next year. Who says that? It’s like she doesn’t believe in me. One day Rachel and everyone else in the school will believe in me! Sometimes when people don’t believe in me, I get a little discouraged so I listen to songs like “Somewhere over the Rainbow” to get through the rough patches. Somewhere over the Rainbow

Leave a Reply

